College Paper About Fansubs - URGENT!

Ad: Buy Girls Und Panzer Merch from Play Asia!

Leyr Lettstat

Kouhai
Good evening,
I'm a student at USP (University of Sao Paulo, in Brazil) and I'm working on a paper about fansubbers, trying to show the academy the excellent work they do translating informally our favorite animes, from fans and to fans.

I ask all of you who are related to fansubbing, specially this forum's owners, to please answer the following 6 quick questions in order to clarify the process. Please, I ask you to answer as soon as possible, for this part of the paper must be concluded until the end of this month.

The questions are the following:

1 - Do you translate directly from Japanese?

2 - Do you use any books or sites as sources (grammars, dictionaries, etc)?

3 - Do you produce the subtitles in order to look like oral speech or not? Which is the parameter to make them (other subtitles, the concept you have on subtitles, etc)?

4 - What do you expect from a subtitle (something close to oral speech, something close to perfect grammar, etc)?

5 - If possible, please tell us the age, profession, etc of the envolved. If not, please tell us aproximately.

6 - At last, please tell a little about the process of translating, its parts, how many are involved, how long does it takes, etc.

Thank you all who read this to the end, and for those who answer, I thank even more.
Lucas.

PS: If you like to, you can answer by email, please send the answers for [email protected] If you want to, put the name of your fansubber.

First of all, this forum (and particularly the "forums owners") are not fansubbers. We are generally people who watch fansubs, though some of the members may be members of fansub groups (like I have been).

I'm not a translator, but I've worked for several different fansubbing groups over the years, so I can answer some of your questions based on those experiences.