Anime Storage

Ad: Buy Girls Und Panzer Merch from Play Asia!

khael

/人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\ being M
Sempai
My 3rd WD Mybook's filling up. I need to buy a new one.

That said, I was wondering what you guys use to store your animu. I'm not good at canvassing stuff and I mostly get my recommendations from friends and other geeks/people on the internet.

The bigger capacity, the better. I currently have 3 WD My Book 1TB, and frankly, it's getting too bulky around here, so I'm looking for something with as much space but smaller bulk.

I also heard that you can turn internal hard drives into external ones just by attaching it to some sort of case that lets you plug it in a USB slot. Any more info on this? If this is possible then I might just do it since it seems much cheaper.

All external drives are basically Hard drives and enclosures. Even your western digital one. The only difference between yours and others is that yours should come with a program (which you can really just copy and paste into any drive) for storage and stuff. It's really simple, really. You open up the enclosure, attach the HDD and close it up. At least the good ones are that easy.

The ideal enclosure is made out of aluminum, designed as a heatsink, and a fan for super cooling. eSata is nice, but it looks like you use USB. as for your HDD, you can get a cheap one easily. 5400 RPM is probably your best choice because if you're using it as storage, you don't need a fast RPM. Also, the slower the RPM, the HDDs tend to last longer, run cooler, and go cheaper.

The total cost of an external and hard drive should only come down to around $80 USD for a good one. The problem with externals is, how many ports do you need. If you got 2 external hard drives and want to connect it to one external, the price for the external jumps quite a bit. 4 HDD externals cost at least $250 and server HDD controllers cost in the thousands.