.mkv files on a video dvd?

Ad: Buy Girls Und Panzer Merch from Play Asia!
Status
Not open for further replies.

Takaru

-chi
Kouhai
Hi there.

I have a TV DVD player at my parents house, and I was wondering if you guys could help me with this problem.

Most of my video DVDs have .mkv format videos on them, so I'm not sure if the DVD player will work with those.
I asked my dad on the phone the other day about what formats the DVD player supports, but rather than the video extentions, on the box it said it supports encoding types (?) such as divx. I'm not very experienced about these things, so I was wondering what he should look for to indicate that it will play .mkv files?

Or would I be better off just somehow converting them to normal .avi files, which the DVD player has played before, and write new DVDs?

This whole thing is rather confusing to me.

Anyway, thanks in advance.

I dont know about the mkv for the dvd players... I dont even know how can dvd player will play a data disc with avi files on it o_O... but if you want to change them to avi google this program.

alltoavi <----name look like it not real well to me but it real I tested it and it work great got some Shuffle! Memories ep I wanted in avi =D

There is no mkv support on any DVD players.

Convert to DivX/XviD avi based on the standards it tells you to. (likely in avi or maybe mp4)

Or make an actual DVD based on DVD specs. (MPEG-2)

Alltoavi - I can't say whether that's a full solution. Never tested nor do I not doubt that it would fail to certain files. (VFR content)

QUOTE I dont know about the mkv for the dvd players... I dont even know how can dvd player will play a data disc with avi files on it o_O...

Really? DVD players like that are pretty common in my country.

QUOTE There is no mkv support on any DVD players.

That kind of sucks.

Well, thanks guys, I'll give Alltoavi a try.